Course Rules

All courses require you to follow unique rules in order to graduate. The following terms will help you understand these rules. Course rules are outlined on each Enrolment Guide:

  • Core subjects – refer to the foundational units of the award, and for this reason they should be studied first. The core subjects are prescribed for each award.  
  • Elective subjects – refer to units the individual chooses based on personal interest or relevance to future studies or employment. The student may select any unit (at the appropriate level) from any discipline, if they have completed the necessary prerequisites. 
  • Enrolment Guides – a specific document for each award, which notes the subjects and structure of the course (including majors), and any additional requirements such as a maximum or minimum of units at a level. For example, the Bachelor of Ministry states a maximum of 8 subjects (80 credit points) at 100 level and a minimum of 4 subjects (40 credit points) at 300 level.  
  • Major or Specialisation – the student chooses the major or specialisation based on the available options stated in the enrolment guide. This refers to a specific area of knowledge, for example, Bachelor of Business students may choose to major in Accounting, or Leadership and Management.   
  • Prerequisites – a specific subject (or number of credit points) a student must complete before being allowed to enrol into a subject. For example, THE101 Christian Worldview is the prerequisite for THE201 Christian Ethics. It is assumed that students taking THE201 have the knowledge, understanding and skills gained from successfully completing THE101. The prerequisites are shown in red on the timetable, and the enrolment guide. 
  • Subject levels – subjects are coded with the three letters of the discipline they belong to (e.g. BIB for Biblical Studies) and 3 numbers relating to the level of study (e.g. BIB312 refers to a 300 level unit and BIB102 refers to a 100 level unit). The difficulty of subjects increases with the number level, such that a 100 level subject is an introductory unit whereas a 300 level unit is more advanced.

                       • Undergraduate – 100, 200 and 300 level subjects 

                       • Postgraduate levels – 400 and 500 level subjects 

                       • Master of Theology – 500 and 600 level subjects 

                       • Master of Philosophy - 600 level subjects 

                       • Doctor of Ministry - 800 level subjects 

                       • Doctor of Philosophy – research  

                       • Unspecified Academic Cross Credit or UACC – refers to credit transferred from another institution for which
                          there is no direct subject match. UACC can only be used towards electives. 

Last modified: Friday, 1 February 2019, 2:28 PM